Collaborative Computational Project
for Electron cryo-Microscopy


CCP-EM Spring Symposium 2017

April 24-26th | Rutherford Appleton Laboratory & Diamond Light Source

eBIC and CCP-EM are proud to announce the inaugural symposium of eBIC, the UK national cryoEM centre at Diamond Light Source, and the third CCP-EM Spring Symposium on April 24-26, 2017. This three day conference will be held at the Diamond/RAL Campus, Harwell, Oxfordshire. The eBIC opening symposium will be on the first day, highlighting the advances of cryoEM and feature presentations with an emphasis on emerging and challenging technologies, followed by CCP-EM featuring of state-of-the-art presentations related to cryo-EM methods and applications. Confirmed speakers include:

eBIC Speakers

Yifan Cheng, UCSF School of Medicine
John Briggs, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
Lori Passmore, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
Radostin Danev Max Planck Institute of Biochemistry
Greg McMullan, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
Sharon Wolf, Weizmann Institute of Science

CCP-EM Speakers

Piet Gros, Utrecht University
Maya Topf, Birkbeck / UCL
David Waterman, STFC
Tanmay Bharat, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology / University of Oxford
Paul Adams, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory
Tristan Croll, University of Cambridge
Erik Lindahl, SciLifeLab
Kay Grunewald, STRUBI
Carolyn Moores, Birkbeck / UCL
Morgan Beeby, Imperial College London
Rob Nicholls, MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology
Ausra Domanska, University of Helsinki
Becky Thompson, University of Leeds


Full schedule


Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, Oxfordshire, UK


The Electron Bio-Imaging Centre

CCP-EM Pub Quiz

The 2017 Spring Symposium featured the first CCP-EM Pub Quiz.

Quiz paper

Quiz paper (with answers)


The quiz was won by:

Alexander Taylor, University of Sheffield
Oishik Banerji, University of Sheffield
Tomas Adomavicius, University of Manchester
Moumita Dutta, University of Sheffield
Svetomir Tzokov, University of Sheffield
Ausra Domanska, University of Helsinki
Per Bullough, University of Sheffield
Caitlin Brumby, University of Sheffield
Ainhoa Dafis-Sagarmendi, University of Sheffield